5 Phases of a Software Bug Life-Cycle

5 Phases of a Software Bug Life-Cycle
October 28 10:00 2013 Print This Article

Usually during any mobile testing, desktop testing or web site testing many or at least some software bugs are found. At this point begins their life-cycles.

The Phases of a Software Defect Life-Cycle Usually Are:

1. Open

Discovering and adding a defect to a bug tracker is the beginning of the defect life-cycle. At this point a software testing company assigns to it status Open.

2. In Development

When the designated developer starts correcting the reported error it is marked as In Development.

3. Fixed

When the developer believes that the issue fixed, he marks the defect as Fixed.

4. Ready for Regression Testing

After compiling a new build of the tested software product the managers mark all the fixed errors as Ready for Regression Testing.

5. Closed

If during regression testing the fixed software bugs do not appear and everything works as it should, testers mark the errors as “Closed”. Only testers should be empowered to close errors.

If the errors occur after fixing, they are marked as “Re-opened” and are directed to the developers for correction again. If fixing of the defects caused other defects or reveal hidden ones they are added to the bug tracker.

So, during mobile application testing, desktop testing or web site testing it is important not only to find software bugs but to record and maintain them properly during their life-cycle as well. Only then one can deliver a software product of high quality.

Related Posts:

About Article Author

view more articles
Nataliia Vasylyna
Nataliia Vasylyna

View More Articles


write a comment

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Add a Comment

Your data will be safe! Your e-mail address will not be published. Also other data will not be shared with third person.
All fields are required.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.